The Exploding Sun


The sun was creasing low-

I stood on the sand sinking too-

Dejected at its choice to steal away the hues from my sky-

And return to a world that seemed easier, command driven and less intimate.

 

Each hour, I watched the sun dip lower,

Yet I failed to detach myself from it.

I didn’t expect it to stay, but I wish it didn’t decide to leave.

 

In a stunt moment of honesty it was gone,

Leaving the turf dark, cold and with little light.

 

It is said that if the sun were to explode, it would take eight minutes for one to know of this explosion on Earth.

I long waited for the dawn, hoping for my skies to find its hues again

May be it revisits my world- out of care, respect or even curtsy.

 

I waited in the dark,

Stolid and cold, 

A cry, a throb, pounding pain-

I knew that my eight minutes had lapsed. 

 

-Sonia Agarwal’13

Image

 

 

 

 

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anonymous
    Mar 28, 2013 @ 06:53:46

    It’s inspiring

    Reply

    • Sonia Agarwal
      Mar 28, 2013 @ 07:15:20

      🙂

      Reply

      • Mustafa
        Jul 13, 2013 @ 23:18:53

        Gamblers and Bettors : The Shares of Sonia Sotomayor are skyrocketing. A boom of beinttg for 75 votes for Sonia in SenateNow gamblers are paying almost 78 dollars that Sonia will be confirmed with more than 75 votes of the Senate. See the chart and how the prices are skyrocketing.A visit to INTRADE.COM let us see how bettors and gamblers are persuaded that Sonia Sotomayor is going to be confirmed. See the charts of increasing prices.Gamblers and Bettors are always better than polls at predictions, and zillions of times better than foolish prejudiced and passionate journalists. ( those are the worst seers in these games )That means that there is a possibility that we have an additional task of blogging the Triumph of Sonia. Just a probability or possibility. The Triumph is not secure.In that case. We have to decide whether we blog the Senate Victory as the defeat of the Republicans or some Bad Guys.Or as the Victory of Good Americans, including millions of Whites . People that are kind and nice. The Good Soul of America soars, this is very sincere . I love those Senate Ladies when they speak of Sotomayor There are millions of people like Amy Kloubuchar and Diane Feinstein, without Racism or Prejudices and with a Big Heart.Negativity is very ugly, but springs from passion, and passion in writing is the best motor .On the other side, there is something called History, and History wants and loves the Good People, an American Story and not the Fools . although one or two villains are good for poetical reasons.You can not have a good novel or movie without a villain !!Perhaps we can reach a solution to this heavy riddle and dilema. What am I going to write if Sonia conquers ???In MILENIALS.COM, my blog, I am blogging furiously the Senate Hearings :Vicente Duque

      • http://www.receptionscholars.com/
        Oct 15, 2013 @ 17:32:59

        I read your post and wished I’d written it

      • Aya
        Oct 23, 2013 @ 13:37:20

        Miriam – Okay so basically i am thikinng you are a genius.you captured a scarlet moment of glorious here i love her expression she looks so sophisticate baby , like she could be eating lunch at mode a vie with her ladies later.

  2. Aditya
    Jul 16, 2013 @ 21:15:50

    that – straight off the tsurty telepromter. “restrained” to me sounds like he is “limited”. and limited is n0t what the constitution is. it gives us “the people” rights. rights to be what we want. immigrants come to this country for a better life. to secede. and this is – granted – by the constitution. not restrained. Im appalled that someone who doesnt believe in the constitution is now in the highest court to interpret the constitution? can you say FUCKED UP.

    Reply

  3. Kaylynn
    Aug 14, 2013 @ 13:23:12

    Heck yeah bay-ebe keep them coming!

    Reply

    • Johnmark
      Feb 12, 2014 @ 08:17:53

      Kathryn. I say if it suits your home and it’s the look you were going for, well done you for getting off yer badiksce and “recycling” an old piece! I find some people have a lot to say about painting old pieces, but a lot of the time they’re the ones who have a “granny’s antique” being utilised as storage in the shed. I like antiques too, but I’m not going to saturate my home with it as it doesn’t suit. My husband also likes his old leather pants from the eighties but HELL NO is taking those things out again! If I can upcycle and old piece and save money at the same time I will! Not all of us can afford what we want unfortunately.

      Reply

  4. http://www.rnd-rbn.com/
    Oct 18, 2013 @ 06:08:06

    This insight’s just the way to kick life into this debate.

    Reply

  5. Asif
    Nov 06, 2013 @ 20:24:20

    I’d like to ađd that the personal setatment should be a reflection your unique qualities. It shouldnt be based on a template. Let the reason for your want of the career dictate through your words. Plus you should never tell why you need to be a doctor but show the reason for your calling. Get an english major to look it over for you to see if you can add a touch of eloquence and style that is more convincing.

    Reply

What do you think? Please Reply...

